Transcription Page

Reverend Robert James Roberts Diary 1892 (A/E/R54/R54 1892)

Missionary, educator, colonist—Robert James Roberts was born in Ireland on December 8, 1831. He graduated from Trinity College Dublin in 1857 then journeyed to North America, arriving in Upper Canada in May of that year. The following year he met Anglican Bishop of Upper Canada Maurice Scollard Baldwin and expressed an interest in serving the Church of England. Roberts was admitted to Deacon’s Orders on December 15, 1858 and acted as a missionary for 20 years. Learn more.

Reverend Roberts often made notes in Pitman’s Shorthand which can be found throughout his journals and diaries. Please see the Pitman's English and Shorthand Dictionary if you would like to attempt a translation.

BC Archives PR-1511 Robert James Roberts fonds, 1845-1905

*Please note that archival source materials are original historical documents that have not been censored, reviewed or otherwise altered by the Royal BC Museum. Some materials may contain content that is racist, sexist or otherwise offensive. The Royal BC Museum is only the custodian of archival materials; the content does not necessarily reflect the views or policies of the Royal BC Museum.
*All transcriptions are provided by volunteers, and the accuracy of the transcriptions is not guaranteed. Please be sure to verify the information by viewing the image record, or visiting the BC Archives in person. 

Current Page Transcription [edit] [history]

Reverend Robert James Roberts Diary 1892 (A/E/R54/R54 1892)

frost fair wind 5

January MONDAY 4 1892

[Percy] finished put up gate at boat house. San Juan, [Atwoun &] came home fr. Nanoose & then went to a dance at [Penelekut]. I walked to Thetis with [Mrs?]. I went to see [Indi?] in the L. [?] but all gone except Tom & he was preparing to go to the dance. Some [Penelekuts] [but] a cow & a calf & [took] them over the water somewhere in canoe or skiff -

I [heard] Robbie & [Tutu] their lesson. I am myself trying in my old age to learn Pitmans short-hand.

frost 7

January TUESDAY 5 1892

Up at [8] not very well. [Chalan] called for $1.90 [made] of [Books] not yet hauled. He said he was sorry to [call]. [Percy] walking at [shorthand?] to [salis]. [In p?] he [exhauson?] went in [the] Julia to Thetis for L. & were back about 6. I went round [Deena's] Point in the [Mary] & cut 3 Arbutus [sleeper] for boat [tramway]. Went to see the [Ludeais?] San Juan, [Atwoun] & their families. All well except Charlie San Juan, who complains of lumbago. Tonight I wrote [several] letters [re] [shorthand?]

Current Page Discussion [edit] [history]

Image 4 of 190